Our funding comes from an increasingly broad range of donors including private individuals, philanthropists and family and other charitable trusts and foundations. We organise our donor recognition in categories inspired by the classical world, and publish them each year in our newsletter and on our website. 

Olympians (£100,000+)

The highest of our recognition levels, our extraordinarily generous Olympians receive the benefits available to all other levels as well as a highly personalised and rewarding giving experience through their gift to Classics for All.

Heroes (£25,000 - £99,999)

Our magnificent Heroes receive the same benefits as our Consuls and also receive inside updates from our Executive and Programme Directors as well as an invitation to join our Development Committee.

Consuls (£10,000 - £24,999)

Our Consuls receive the same benefits as our Senators with the opportunity to visit a school or network to see our work in action, always a rewarding and enriching day.

Senators (£5,000 - £9,999)

Our Senators receive the same benefits as our Praetorians and are also invited to at least one additional exclusive event a year, such as a talk, reception or dinner.

Praetorians (£1,000 - £4,999)

Our Praetorians receive occasional updates on our work and events and are publicly acknowledged on our website and in our printed newsletter. Praetorians also receive priority invitations to events as well as an invitation to our annual reception at Kallos Gallery, Mayfair.

Centurions (£100-£299) and Centurion Maximus (£300-£999)

Find out more about our Centurions campaign here.

Donor recognition list - 2021

This is our opportunity to warmly thank our supporters – trusts and foundations as well individuals – and to publish the names of those who gave generous gifts of £1,000 or more during 2021. We welcome several new donors to Classics for All along with many who have been with us longer.

We are grateful to everyone who supported us in 2021. The names of individuals and trusts and foundations below will be listed on our website for the rest of the year; we have a special section on our website for our Centurion donors (giving £100-£999).

Olympians (giving £100,000+)
Geoffrey and Caroline de Jager

Heroes (giving £25,000+)
One Anonymous 
Garfield Weston Foundation
The A. G. Leventis Foundation
The Polonsky Foundation

Consuls (giving £10,000+)
One Anonymous 
Mr Roger Barnes
Cassandra & Philip Bassett
Mr Dimitri Chandris
Mr Noel De Keyzer
Mr Stephen Gosztony
Mr Edward Hocknell
Mr Matthew Lindsey-Clark
Stuart and Ellen Lyons Charitable Trust
Mr & Mrs Philip Miles
The Rank Foundation
The Reed Foundation

Roma Numismatics
The Rushworth Foundation which supports music, the arts and education in Liverpool
Mr Jeremy Sillem
Chris and Arabella van Niekerk

Senators (giving £5,000+)
One Anonymous
Mr Robin John Angus, in memory of Alexander Nicol, Head of Classics at Forres Academy 1929-1966
Hugh Fraser Foundation
Gatsby Charitable Foundation 
Goldman Sachs Gives

Mrs Marion Gibbs CBE
Mr Julian Hardwick
The Loveday Charitable Trust
Ms Karyl Nairn
Mr Stephen Nelson
The Henry Oldfield Trust
The Basil Samuel Charitable Trust

Praetorians (giving £1,000+)
Four Anonymous
Mr Nicholas Barber CBE
Nicholas and Diana Baring
Professor Mary Beard DBE
Camilla Bingham QC
Mr Charles Bradley
The Felix Byam Shaw Foundation
Professor Paul Cartledge
Mr Nick Chapman
Mrs Gill Clark
Mr Christopher A Clarke
Sir Anthony Cleaver
The John Coates Charitable Trust
The CPF Trust

Mrs Jeannie Cohen
Mr Matthew Craston
Professor Paul Ellis and Dr Isis Dove-Edwin
Carolyn Foreman
Mr Michael Freeman
The Goldsmiths' Company
Verne and Andrea Grinstead
The Headley Trust
Hon Tim Hely Hutchinson CBE
Sir Launcelot Henderson
Sir Rupert Jackson
Sir Francis Jacobs
Professor Richard Jenkyns
Dr Peter Jones MBE
Mr Nicholas Jones
Mr Henry King QC
Mr Sebastian Kokelaar
Ian and Caroline Laing
Mr William Lawrence
Mr Richard Lawrence
Mr Ian Macfarlane
Mr James Macpherson
Ian Mactaggart Trust
Ms Avril Martindale
Mr Brian Menell
Professor Frederick Mostert
Mr Jonathan Nash QC
New Park Educational Trust
Andrew and Jane Onslow
Mr Christian Parker
Mr Jan Pethick
Mr Hugh Priestley
Mr Gavin Ralston
Sir Vivian Ramsey
Mr Graham Read QC
Mr George Robinson
Professor Keith Rutter
Sir James Scott
Mr Charles Skinner
Dr Maurice Slevin
Mr David Smart
Mrs Tessa Smith
Mr Alastair Tedford
Ms Angharad Wood
Professor Greg Woolf

Classics for All would not exist without the generosity of our donors. Whatever your level of giving, you are helping us to change the landscape of classics in state schools: thank you. To find out more about giving to our work, please contact Alice Parr at alice@classicsforall.org.uk or ring 0207 848 4741.